AWE KOOTA BILXPAAK KOOXSHIIWIASH

A young supporter tries to get a look at Democratic presidential hopeful, Sen. Barack Obama, D-Ill., arriving at a rally in Crow Agency, Mont., Monday, May 19, 2008.(AP Photo/Chris Carlson)

which translates to \”he who helps all people of the land\”

The campaign trail took Barack Obama right to the Crow Nation Reservation in Crow Agency. Montana. There he stood and spoke about the need to honor previous treaties and to give respect to the proud native American tribes around America and to honor there culture and heritage to America and to make sure they have a voice in a Barack Obama Administration…

Here are some of his remarks to the crowd:

This is one of the most important events that we\’ve had on this campaign. It is truly a great honor. I\’ve traveled across the country and made a point of meeting with tribal leaders everywhere I go. The government to government relationship is so critical, it\’s something that is going to be a top priority in my administration.

I often talk about how the needs of the American people are going unmet in Washington. Few have been ignored as long as Native Americans\’, the first Americans. Too often Washington has paid lip service to working with tribes while not taking care of their needs. That will change when I am President of the United States.

…My Indian policy starts with honoring the unique government to government relationship with tribes. Ensuring that our treaty obligations are met, ensuring that Native Americans have a voice in the White House.

…I believe treaty commitments are paramount law, I\’ll fulfill those commitments as President of the United States. I\’ll provide quality healthcare to those on reservations. That\’s why I\’m fighting to ensure full funding of Indian health services.

…As president, I will never forget what this park is meant to honor, the service and sacrifice of generations of Native Americans throughout this country. We will keep our sacred trust.

…We have a lot of work to do in this country for all people: black, white, Hispanic, Asian, Native American. We are all one people.

…It starts with a sense of respect. It starts with the belief that all people are worthy of respect. I will never forget you. You will be on my mind every day that I\’m in the White House.

…We can make sure that we have a President who\’s committed to what\’s right: respecting you, honoring you. And now that I\’m a member of the family, you know that I won\’t break my commitment to our family.

***********************************************************************************************

OUR MOMENT IS NOW!!VOTE OBAMA!!

Leave a Reply

